top of page
_MG_0084.jpg

ABOUT US

VISION

Canada Wildfire transforms vegetation fire management through partnerships between knowledge holders, practitioners, and policy-makers.

The Canada Wildfire Strategic Plan 2022-2027 defines our mission: The Partnership drives innovation in vegetation fire management, policy, and practices through strategic investments in research and knowledge exchange while educating and mentoring generations of scientists and practitioners.


The plan describes seven principles that will enhance our research impact and organizational excellence:

Inclusiveness

Innovation

Strategic Alignment

Scienticific Rigour

Shared Knowledge

Adaptation

Collaboration

OUR STORY

In June 2009, three founding partners established the Canadian Partnership for Wildland Fire Science (Canada Wildfire): Alberta Agriculture and Forestry (AAF), the University of Alberta School of Forest Science and Management (UofA), and the Canadian Forest Service (CFS) Northern Forestry Centre (NoFC). It was founded as the Western Partnership for Wildland Fire Science to meet priority research requirements by establishing a fire science hub that connected AAF and NoFC researchers with researchers at the University of Alberta and other Canadian and international research organizations. The partnership was expanded in 2019 with the BC Wildfire Service, then in 2020 with Parks Canada and the Saskatchewan Public Safety Agency, and in 2021 with the Government of the Northwest Territories.

Canada Wildfire Team

Renee Beaulac  Program Coordinator rbeaulac@ualberta.ca

Karen Blouin Research Coordinator karen.blouin@ualberta.ca

Mike Flannigan Science Director mflannigan@tru.ca

Sandra Kinash Knowledge Translation and Mobilization Specialist skinash@ualberta.ca

Brian Wiens Managing Director brian.wiens@ualberta.ca

Wankui Zhou Administrator wankui@ualberta.ca

bottom of page